The April Film Awards

From now on, it’s award season every month on filmcurious. Fashionably late I present you an overview of the films I’ve watched in April. Don’t expect a boring list, but find out which very special awards I give to films such as Ryan Gosling‘s Lost River or Quentin Tarantino‘s Pulp Fiction.

The “It’s a miracle I sat through this entire thing” Award

Winner: Mortdecai
Johnny Depp in Mortdecai

Johnny Depp in ‘Mortdecai’

Could Johnny Depp be any more of a caricature of himself? If he really passed on The Grand Budapest Hotel, for this train wreck of  a movie, then I guess his judgment is even worse than his acting at this point. (According to Wes Anderson, Ralph Fiennes was his first and only choice. Good judgment on his part.) David Koepp also directs Gwyneth Paltrow and Ewan McGregor. The latter being the only redeeming quality this ‘movie’ has to offer.

Johnny Depp is perhaps one of the most versatile actors of his day and age in Hollywood.”

This is the first line on Depp‘s IMDb profile. The irony physically hurts me. Let’s hope he’s able to turn it all around with the upcoming Black Mass.

Runner Ups:

The Boy Next Door starring Jennifer Lopez, Julianne Moore‘s The English Teacher and Sarah Jessica Parker in  I don’t know how she does it. Give these women better scripts please!

The “What am I watching? This is so weird.” Award

Winner: Lost River
Iain De Caestecker in Lost River

Iain De Caestecker in ‘Lost River’

Ryan Gosling‘s directorial debut is a strange one. Highly personal, visually stunning and a perfect example of magical realism. The film tries to be too much at once, and therefore fails at getting the story across. But it’s an interesting premise, and features some amazing performances. Matt Smith transforms into Bully, and Eva Mendes stuns as Cat. Christina Hendricks, Iain De Caestecker and Saoirse Ronan also star in this gritty Detroit fairy tale.

Runner Ups:

Under the Cherry Moon which was Prince‘s directorial debut, as well as Kristin Scott Thomas first film role, David Cronenberg‘s literary adaptation Cosmopolis, and Jacques Demy‘s Donkey Skin, starring a young Catherine Deneuve.

The “I must like these ’cause I rewatched them” Award

Winner: The Lion King

The-Lion-King-the-lion-king-13191392-800-600

Since I’m introducing my little brother to the favourite films from my childhood (I’m 22 and he’s 9), it was only a matter of time until I would land on The Lion King. After finishing my rewatch I immediately went to the film’s IMDb trivia page, a new habit of mine. And my mind got blown. Simba is Hamlet. How come nobody had ever told me this before? How come I hadn’t figured that out myself? It didn’t help that I had  rewatched this Disney Classic on Shakespeare day. The internet was suddenly filled with Shakespeare articles and the Lion King  / Hamlet connection seemed to be everywhere. I obviously felt incredibly stupid.

But all of that aside, The Lion King remains my favourite Disney film. The music, the humour, the characters, the story, it all holds up so well. I might even be tempted to check out The Lion Guard, a new animated television series based on Simba’s son.

Runner Ups:

The Lion King II: Simba’s Pride, Finding Nemo and The Heat.

Head on over to page two for the more prestigious awards

7 thoughts on “The April Film Awards

  1. mikeyb @ screenkicker says:

    Wow, what an amazing set of awards! It’s so cool that you’re introducing your little brother to some classics, that must so much fun.

    I see Emily Blunt in Edge of Tomorrow got a mention. You know what I think about that 🙂 love your blog too.

    Like

    • Shana says:

      Thanks! It’s always great to get some feedback, since I’m just starting out!
      I’m really excited for Sicario, where she’ll play an FBI agent trying to bring down a Mexican cartel boss. Let’s hope that that character doesn’t fall into any of those three categories!

      Like

    • feedingbrett says:

      *continue from my mis-post* I can’t actually do one. I need to see Lost River but I am waiting for it to be released in home media; and the Lion King thing! Wow, you need to get on top of things better! Also nice shout-out in the runner up section for Simba’s Pride, I dig Kovu and his disgrace song.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Shana says:

        Thanks! It’s great to know that someone is actually reading this 🙂 Lost River is on iTunes rightnow, and I know, I have absolutely no excuse when it comes to the Lion King. At least I knew that Simba’s Pride was based on Romeo and Juliet, that’s something right? Thanks for the backflip! Sending one right back at you!

        Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation

